Go Back   Off Highway Vehicle Forum - ATVs | Dirt Bikes | Snowmobiles | Watercrafts > ATV Forums > Sport ATVs General Discussion
Become a Supporting Member         Become a Preferred Vendor

Sport ATVs General Discussion Anything in general about Sport ATV's

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2010, 04:11 PM   #1
eddiefromcali
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Age: 35
Posts: 50
Default Scott's reusable oil filter
Any of you guys ever use this filter? I had one on my 03 660 and loved it. When my tranny blew, I had a shop install new gears and I did an oil change soon after...what I saw inside the filter pissed the living shit out of me. It was FULL of red fibers from shop rags...turns out that they had let the bike sit for a long time with the cases apart and just stuffed it with rags. I did a couple oil changes until the fibers were gone and all was good. Wouldve never found out if it wasnt for that filter. I just got another one for my 04 and plan on using it when I install my head/cam/piston combo...and at $80, it should pay for itself within a couple of rides
eddiefromcali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 06:19 PM   #2
 
Shaggy's Avatar
Shaggy
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Arizona
Age: 41
Posts: 49
Default
What do you clean it with?
Shaggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 07:03 PM   #3
 
jschrock's Avatar
jschrock
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Age: 32
Posts: 44
Default
Do they make them for the 700?
jschrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 10:27 AM   #4
eddiefromcali
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Age: 35
Posts: 50
Default
Originally Posted by Shaggy View Post
What do you clean it with?
its pretty easy...I use carb cleaner or brake cleaner...this is from scottsperformance.com

Cleanable and reusable:
Simply remove the filter, rinse in clean solvent and replace it, you're done. The filter can be cleaned with solvent, kerosene, aerosol carburetor cleaner, or any other degreasing agent, even common dish soap. You can even blow air through the filter from the inside out to remove any small particles or cleaning agent from the screen if you so desire.
Originally Posted by jschrock View Post
Do they make them for the 700?
I think they do...all the way at the bottom

http://www.scottsperformance.com/pro...=3&Bike=Yamaha
eddiefromcali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 04:01 PM   #5
 
jschrock's Avatar
jschrock
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Age: 32
Posts: 44
Default
Sweet! not too bad of a price!
jschrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 04:59 PM   #6
eddiefromcali
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Age: 35
Posts: 50
Default
probably cheaper because u dont need the aluminum canister? just drop in the filter element inside ur oe can 660s need the canister as well...fml
eddiefromcali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 03:08 AM   #7
 
nosbusa's Avatar
nosbusa
Full Access Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: on FRF
Age: 39
Posts: 956
Default
i dont know about those reusable filters.... probably not a good idea......
nosbusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 12:56 PM   #8
hunt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Age: 31
Posts: 7
Default
I was looking for this information!


__________________
192.168.1.1
hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2016, 12:17 PM   #9
next471
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Age: 33
Posts: 10
Default
Hello! I really liked your story. Thank you!


__________________
sprint customer service chat

Last edited by next471; 01-02-2017 at 11:58 AM.
next471 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2016, 12:23 PM   #10
next471
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Age: 33
Posts: 10
Default
I thank you for the information! I was looking for and could not find. You helped me!


__________________
sprint customer service chat

Last edited by next471; 01-02-2017 at 11:57 AM.
next471 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump